Garankuwa United

Garankuwa United FC (FM08 calls names them Ga-Rankuwa United)

Full name Garankuwa United Football Club
Founded 2004, bought out Buffaloes FC
Ground Odi Stadium, Mabopane
Capacity 60,000 (in FM08 the capacity is 45,000)


Garankuwa United is a South African association football club from Garankuwa near Pretoria, Gauteng that participates in the National First Divsion, Inland Stream. They use Odi Stadium, which is located in the North West province, as their home venue.

Garankuwa is one of South Africa’s larger townships located about 30km north of Pretoria. Provincially it falls under the North-West province, but municipally it falls under the City of Tshwane (Pretoria), which in fact is in the Gauteng province. It is divided into 12 sections called zones, which are Zone 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,15,16,20. The majority of people are of the Batswana group, even though their language consists of other languages such as Sepedi, Sotho, and street slang language. This gives it a unique language together with its neighbouring townships (Mabopane, Soshanguve, Mamelodi, Attridgeville) in the whole of South Africa. This form of language is often called Pretoria Taal (Afrikaans for language).

Residents from this area provide the bulk of labour for the Rosslyn inudstrial area.

It has one of the biggest hospitals in Africa, Dr George Mukhari hospital (formerly known as Garankuwa Hospital before it was controversially changed in 2002) and the Medical University of South Africa ([[MEDUNSA[1]]])is now merged with University of the north (Turfloop) into the ([[University of Limpopo[2]]]) , which continues to produces the largest number of Doctors in South Africa.

Its Tertiary institution is called Tshwane University of Technology (formerly known as Setlogelo) before it was merged with the then Pretoria Technikon and TNG (Technikon Northern Gauteng) which is situated in Soshanguve. A number of primary and secondary schools are spread evenly throughout all the zones.

Other institutions of importance include the Police Station/Prison and the magistrates court situated in Zone 5.

Source: aaron70