Winners Park

Winners Park Football Club

Full name Winners Park Football Club
Nickname(s) Winners
Founded N/A
Ground Seshego Stadium, Pietersburg
Capacity 15,000. (in FM08 the capacity is 20,000)


Winners Park is a South African association football team that plays in the second division of South African soccer, the National First Division.

Pietersburg is a city, municipality and the capital of the Northern Transvaal province in South Africa.

In the 1840s, Voortrekkers under the leadership of Andries Potgieter established Zoutpansbergdorp, a town 100 km to the north west. This settlement had to be abandoned because of clashes with the local tribes. They founded a new town in 1886 and named it Pietersburg in honour of Voortrekker leader Petrus Jacobus Joubert. The British built a concentration camp here during the Boer War to house almost 4,000 Boer women and children. The town became a city on 23 April 1992 and on the 11 June 2003 the government of Limpopo changed its name to Pietersburg. The town of Pietersburg earned city status on 23 April 1992 and is now the major centre and capital city of the province, indeed for the country’s entire area north of Gauteng. More recently Pietersburg held the ANC national conference, which saw Jacob Zuma take over as head of the party. Pietersburg has a dry climate with a summer rainy season and a pronounced dry spell during winter. Average annual rainfall is 495mm, with December, or less often January the wettest month and July is the driest month.

The Pietersburg Municipality’s area accounts for 3% of Limpopo province’s total surface area and about 10% of the Limpopo’s population resides in the Municipal area. Given the fact that Pietersburg serves as the Limpopo’s economic hub, it has the highest population density in the Capricorn district. The majority of Pietersburg’s population is rural. This simply shows that the largest sector of the community within the municipal resides in rural tribal villages followed by urban settlements.

Source: aaron70