Witbank Spurs

Witbank Spurs Football Club

Full name Witbank Spurs Football Club
Nickname(s) Sivutha Umlilo
Founded N/A
Ground Ackerville Stadium, Witbank
Capacity N/A (in FM08 the capacity is 3,000)


Witbank Spurs are a South African association football club based in Witbank, Mpumalanga that competes in the National First Division.

Witbank, is situated on the highveld of Mpumalanga, South Africa. The name Witbank is Afrikaans for White Ridge and is named after a white sandstone outcrop where wagon transport drivers rested. In March 2006, the town was renamed Emalahleni, the Nguni word for “the place of coal”. eMalahleni is in the coal mining area with 22 collieries in an area no more than 40 km in any direction. There are a number of power stations (such as the Duvha Power Station), as well as a steel mill, Highveld Steel and Vanadium Corporation, nearby which all require coal.

Witbank was established in 1890 and early attempts to exploit the coal deposits failed until the railway from Pretoria reached the area in 1894. It was proclaimed a town in 1903 and became a municipality in 1914 .

In the 1994 AWB invasion of Bophuthatswana Witbank was one of the right- wing strongholds where AWB commandos were called in from

The eMalahleni municipality, which encompasses several neighbouring settlements, has a population of 190,885, according to the 2001 Census. Of these, 81.7% were African, 16.6% White, 1.4% Coloured and 0.4% Asian. The white population is likely to have been undercounted, a general problem with the 2001 Census figures.

Rivals: None

Source: aaron70