Below the millionaires playground of the two horse race sorry, La Liga sit the delights of the Segunda Division B.

Segunda Division B

Segunda División B is the third level of the Spanish football league system. It is administered by the RFEF. The top two levels are La Liga, also referred to as the Primera División, and the Segunda División. Immediately below Segunda División B is the Tercera Division. The division includes the reserve teams of several La Liga teams.

League Structure (Long!)

Segunda División B currently features 80 teams divided into 4 groups of 20. The top four teams from each group, 16 teams in total, qualify for play-offs to determine which four teams will replace the four teams relegated from the Liga Adelante. However reserve teams are only eligible for promotion to the Liga Adelante if their senior team is in the Liga BBVA. The top five teams from each group and best two teams regardless of group outside the previous twenty, excluding reserve teams, also qualify for the following seasons Copa del Rey. The bottom four teams in each league are relegated to the Tercera División. Also, the four 16th-placed teams enter into a relegation playoff to determine the two teams to be relegated. One team is paired with one of the others in home and away series. the two winners remain in the division while the losers are relegated. A reserve team can also be relegated if their senior team is relegated from the Liga Adelante. Along with teams from the Tercera División, teams from the division also compete in the Copa Federación.
Beginning with the 2008-09 season, the four group winners will have the opportunity to be promoted directly and be named the overall Segunda División B champion. The four group winners will be drawn into a two-legged series where the two winners will be promoted to the Liga Adelante and enter into the final for the Segunda División B championship. The two losing semifinalists enter the playoff round for the last two promotion spots.
The four group runners-up will be drawn against one of the three fourth-placed teams outside their group while the four third-placed teams are drawn against one another in a two-legged series. The six winners advance with the two losing semifinalists to determine the four teams that will enter the last two-legged series for the last two promotion spots. In all the playoff series, the lower-ranked club plays at home first. Whenever the is a tie in position (e.g. like the group winners in the Semifinal Round and Final or the third-placed teams in the first round), a draw will determine the club to play at home first.

Copa del Rey


The new format for the Copa del Rey competition will be repeated again this year. Dates have been set for three initial rounds played over one leg, and two-leg knockouts from there on up to the final. The first three rounds will be between second division A clubs and the top sides from the second division B and the third division, as follows:

First round: This will only involve 24 second division B and 18 third division clubs. The 2B clubs are made up of the top five of each of last season’s four regional groups, plus the five best placed sides after that. The four promoted sides are excluded, replaced by the four sides who were relegated. The teams qualifying from the third division are the 18 regional group champions, except in the cases where this was a B side, where the runners up will qualify. Six of the 2B sides will be excluded and given byes to the next round, leaving 18 ties to be played, with clubs grouped into four geographical regions.Games will be played over one leg at the ground of the first named side, with the losers going in to the Federation Cup.

Second round: The 18 winners from round one plus the six exempt sides will join the 21 second division A sides (excluding Sevilla B). One of the 2A sides will be given a bye, and the remaining 20 will play off against each other. The 24 lower division sides will also be drawn against each other. Again matches will take place over one leg.

Third round: Once again the 2A sides and the lower division sides will be kept apart. One of the 10 winners from the 2A grouping will be given a bye to the fourth round, and the remaining nine plus the team who had a bye from the last round will play off. The 12 lower division winners from the second round will also meet each other.

The 20 first division clubs will only enter the competition in round four together with the twelve survivors from the previous rounds. The six teams from the lower divisions will play six of the sides who are playing in Europe this season (Real Madrid, Villarreal, Barcelona and Atlético Madrid from the Champions League, and two from Sevilla, Racing Santander and Valencia, participating in the UEFA Cup). The six second division A sides will be drawn against the remaining side from the UEFA cup participants, Spain’s representative in the Intertoto cup (Deportivo), and four of the other first division sides. That will leave eight first division sides who will be drawn against each other. As mentioned above, ties take place over two legs, with the first leg at the ground of the lower division club.

Sixteen teams will therefore go in to a fifth round, where the draw will be free. The only proviso is that, where two sides of different divisions meet, the first leg will be played at the ground of the lower division side. As from the quarter finals this condition will no longer apply.


Copa Federación de España, also referred to as the Copa RFEF, is a Spanish football competition for teams from the Segunda División B, the Tercera División and sometimes from the Preferente Regional who have failed to qualify or have been eliminated in first round of the Copa del Rey.

Author: William McBeard