Swedish League Structure

In Sweden there’re 4 tiers in the game. The only playable tier for LLaMas is the 4th tier. It consists of 6 independent divisions based of geographic criteria with 12 teams each and 22 games to be played: (translation in brackets)

Division 2 Norrland (Northern region in Sweden)
Division 2 Norra Svealand (Northern Svealand)
Division 2 Södra Svealand (Southern Svealand)
Division 2 Mellersta Götaland (Middle Götaland)
Division 2 Västra Götaland (Western Götaland)
Division 2 Södra Götaland (Southern Götaland)

The winners of each Division 2 gain automatic promotion to the 3rd tire of Swedish football. The two bottom teams go down to 5th tier. Twelve winning teams from the twelve Division 3 leagues are promoted in their place while the third lowest placed teams in the Division 2 leagues (10th place) plays promotion/relegation play-offs against the twelve second placed teams in Division 3. The 3rd flight is called Division 1. It consists of 2 independent geographic based divisions – Norraettan and Södraettan. 3 teams from each Division 1 are relegating every year down to the Division 2.

Author: Vass